You can use the Find My app to remove a device from your Devices list or turn off Activation Lock on a device you already sold or gave away.
If you still have the device, you can turn off Activation Lock and remove the device from your account by turning off the Find My [device] setting on the device.
Remove a device from your devices list
If you’re not planning on using a device, you can remove it from your devices list.
The device appears in your devices list the next time it comes online if it still has Activation Lock turned on (for an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, or Apple Watch), or is paired with your iOS or iPadOS device (for AirPods or Beats headphones).
- Do one of the following:
- For an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, or Apple Watch: Turn off the device.
- For AirPods and AirPods Pro: Put AirPods in their case and close the lid.
- For Beats headphones: Turn off the headphones.
- In Find My, tap Devices, then tap the name of the offline device.
- Tap Remove This Device, then tap Remove.
Turn off Activation Lock on a device you have
Before you sell, give away, or trade in a device, you should remove Activation Lock so the device is no longer associated with your Apple ID.
See the Apple Support articles:
- What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch
- What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your Mac
- What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your Apple Watch, or buy one from someone else
Turn off Activation Lock on a device you no longer have
If you sold or gave away your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, or Apple Watch and you forgot to turn off Find My [device], you can still remove Activation Lock using the Find My app.
- Tap Devices, then tap the name of the device you want to remove.
- Erase the device.Because the device isn’t lost, don’t enter a phone number or message.If the device is offline, the remote erase begins the next time it connects to a Wi-Fi or cellular network. You receive an email when the device is erased.
- When the device is erased, tap Remove This Device, then tap Remove.All your content is erased, Activation Lock is turned off, and someone else can now activate the device.
You can also remove a device online using iCloud.com. For instructions, see Remove a device from Find My iPhone on iCloud.com in the iCloud User Guide.